top of page

Housing

Updated: Jul 30

Through MIX, you are responsible for finding your own housing. In Korea, there are several options for housing.


Dorms

  • Dorming at Yonsei can be competitive but I highly recommend at least trying to apply for a room. It’s the easiest way to make friends and get to know other foreigners in the city. 

  • SK Global House is the main dorm for exchange students and they don’t have a curfew. No guests are allowed in rooms though.

  • Roommates share one bathroom.

  • Out of the three options listed, dorming is the cheapest

Goshiwon

A goshiwon is a very tiny one-room type of apartment in Korea. Some have more amenities than others, but you can check out options based on university location on Goshipages.


I stayed at Single House Sinchon and had a private bathroom, outside window, and a AC unit. I paid 650,000 won per month which is about $480-490. 


  • It is located right next to the West Gate of campus, so about a 8-10 minute walk from the main gate. It’s about a 15-20 minute walk from Sinchon Station (Line 2).

  • Would I recommend this place? I am not sure TBH... In the winter I was very cold so the building heating was not that good. Some rooms (especially ones with no outside window for ventilation) may be prone to mold.

  • Contact me if you are seriously considering staying here and have questions. I will be happy to provide thorough answers

  • See pictures of my goshiwon below. It's quite small but I got used to it so it wasn't so bad. Also the bed was smaller than a normal twin-sized bed and very hard. Bedding was provided.



*Note: you will only be able to get a certain room "type" if it’s available on the day you arrive. The landlady doesn’t really take advance requests.  I wanted a room with a private bathroom, but it wasn’t available so I had to use a shared bathroom for the first two weeks. Then, once someone else moved out, I was able to move into their room.


**Another note: landlady does not speak English at all. You will need to use Papago if you don’t speak Korean, both in messaging and IRL.


Airbnb

There are plenty of options for exchange students on Airbnb. Just make sure to check the location and it’s proximity to campus and subway stations. Airbnbs will usually be a little more expensive than goshiwons, but will also probably be nicer and larger.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Komentar


bottom of page